Transition from Sales to Marketing: Looking for Guidance

Some key points that marketing candidates with many years of experience in other areas — in this case, sales — will need to address to appeal to hiring managers. See also “Making the Jump from Research to Marketing.”

PM-THREAD 1003-1

INITIAL MESSAGE
AUTH: Christine Gaul
DATE: Thursday, October 23, 2003

I am an experienced Pharmaceutical Sales professional with a backgound in Print. The level of education that I have completed is BS in Business and Marketing. I am currently trying to transition from Sales to Marketing, and am investigating many avenues.

The two most attractive to me are: working for an Advertising Agency that specializes in Pharmaceutical Marketing, or working for a Pharmaceutical Company as an Assistant Product Manager.

I will be pursuing an MBA, but would like some guidance from experienced professionals who have already made the transition.

Can you offer me any “pearls of wisdom”?

Sincerely,
Chrissy

RESPONSE
AUTH: Alain Rinaldi
DATE: Friday, October 24, 2003
Dear Christine, Your shift decision is courageous and deserves admiration, good luck !

I made a similar shift 14 years ago in France, with an experience both in industry and ad agencies, such is the frame of some personal reflexions I can give to your judgement :

1. due to a great many applicants from those trainings, marketing jobs appear to be mostly preempted by people with a background of pharmacist and, to a lesser extent, doctor (sometime dentist, …)
  2. the internal promotion policy of laboratories, that formerly welcomed and favoured the shift seem to have integrated this fact and now give the narrow-minded preference to those people (not to speak of further potential ladder-up discriminations …)
  3. assistant product manager is a low-responsability position for quite inexperienced young people and your are experienced and autonomous, so, disappointment may arise,